Back

Best practices

1 October 2019

Teams VS Yammer – when to use each platform?

Everybody knows about Microsoft Office 365 and certainly a lot of people work with it every single day. Among other tools, today’s O365 package includes Microsoft Teams and Yammer in their offer, so chances are your company is using both. They are very similar platforms, so when should you use one instead of the other?

This article will help you better define your use cases by introducing each tool and their capabilities, as well as presenting some common examples on when to use each of them. Let’s get started!

TEAMS

Microsoft Teams is the latest workload of O365. It has gained a rapid success, managing to reach 13 million daily active users in just two years. Designed to boost collaboration across an organization, Teams has become the entry door to the modern workplace in many companies around the world.

Teams has now replaced Skype for Business in the meeting and conversation scope. And while these are two main features in Teams, they are far from being the only ones that matter. Indeed, Microsoft Teams allows for members to work together regardless of their location. It is the place to go for information sharing and knowledge transfer on a specific context.

Teams is great for smaller groups leading projects and is way more than a messaging tool for your company. It has come to change the way companies embrace the modern workplace and helps with productivity – working directly in Teams reduces the amount of emails sent internally.

When creating a new Team, an Office 365 Group is created, too. This O365 group provides an immediate access to workloads such as Office Online and even a SharePoint Team Site. Within their channels, users get to find the information they need and open simultaneously each workload or file created in the context of the team – no need to go through other apps in order to get the job done!

Think about a business unit working on a new product release together. They will have a specific team and channels dedicated to this project exclusively. This way, users will know exactly where to start all conversations related to the release and will share the relevant content. Everything revolves around the same context. This concept as well as the fact that information is historized and able to be searched for is one of Teams’ stronger assets.

YAMMER

Yammer has been around for several years now and has become a very popular Enterprise Social Network (ESN) for many companies. While its growth has slowed down considerably, it’s still that trustworthy friend so many companies like to work with, especially for internal communications and social purposes.

This ESN is at the center of the culture of a company helping boost employee engagement towards the brand and allowing for an easy communication among colleagues. The people interacting within Yammer can be in different departments or geographical locations, it doesn’t matter! Yammer helps break the silos in any company.

One of the most common use cases in Yammer involves internal communications managers. They tend to make announcements company wide, as their goal is to reach the most people in the organization. These announcements are then liked and commented by the employees, encouraging interactions between people that would not socialize outside this type of environment.

THE VERDICT

Both Yammer and Microsoft Teams are amazing tools to work with and definitely find their place in any organization’s modern workplace, so when to use each one of them?

If the goal is to send company-wide messages and encourage communication between different business units and employees in different locations, Yammer is the right choice! Send out an announcement, create a poll, have different groups – the whole company will be able to interact with them.

If you want for team members to send messages about their ongoing projects and have them collaborate in real-time on different files, then Microsoft Teams will be the best ally. Users can join in different teams and have specific channels for each one of their projects and work in-app simultaneously, so all information will be right there when they need it.

modern workplace

yammer

teams

Other news

All news

Retour

Team vs Yammers - teamwork in Microsoft 365

Best practices

1 juillet 2020

Teams VS Yammer – quand utiliser chaque plateforme ?

Microsoft Office 365 est désormais connu partout dans le monde et beaucoup de personnes utilisent cette plateforme certainement tous les jours. Entre autres outils, O365 inclut aujourd’hui Microsoft Teams et Yammer dans son offre. Il y a donc de fortes chances que votre entreprise utilise les deux. Il s’agit de plateformes très similaires et vous pouvez donc vous poser la question : quand choisir l’une plutôt que l’autre ?

Cet article vous aidera à mieux définir vos cas d’usage en présentant chaque outil ainsi que ses capacités, ainsi que quelques exemples sur quand utiliser chacun d’entre eux. Sans plus attendre, allons-y !

Microsoft teams icon

MICROSOFT TEAMS

Microsoft Teams est le dernier né d’O365. Il a connu un succès rapide, parvenant à atteindre 13 millions d’utilisateurs actifs par jour en seulement deux ans. Conçu pour accroître la collaboration au sein d’une organisation, MS Teams est devenu la porte d’entrée de la modern workplace dans de nombreuses entreprises du monde entier.

Teams a désormais remplacé Skype for Business sur le plan réunions et tchat. Bien si ces prestations sont les deux principales caractéristiques de Teams, elles sont loin d’être les seules qui nous intéressent. En effet, Microsoft Teams permet aux utilisateurs de travailler ensemble quel que soit leur lieu de travail. C’est le meilleur endroit pour le partage d’informations et le transfert de connaissances dans un contexte spécifique.

MS Teams est idéal pour les équipes travaillant sur des projets spécifiques et est bien plus qu’un simple outil de messagerie. Il a réussi à changer la façon dont les entreprises perçoivent la modern workplace et contribue massivement à la productivité – travailler directement sur Teams permet de réduire le nombre d’emails envoyés en interne. 

Quant on créé une nouvelle équipe sur Teams, un groupe O365 est également créé. Ce groupe O365 fournit un accès immédiat aux différents workloads tels qu’Office Online et même SharePoint. Dans leurs canaux, les utilisateurs peuvent trouver les informations dont ils ont besoin, et ouvrir simultanément chaque workload ou fichier créé dans le contexte de l’équipe – plus besoin de passer par d’autres applications pour travailler de manière efficace !

Pensez à une unité opérationnelle qui travaille sur la sortie d’un nouveau produit. Ils disposeront d’une équipe et de canaux spécifiques dédiés exclusivement à ce projet. De cette façon, les utilisateurs sauront exactement où commencer toutes les conversations liées à ce projet et partageront les contenus pertinents. Tout tourne autour du même contexte. Ce concept, ainsi que le fait que les informations soient archivées et puissent être recherchées facilement, est l’un des atouts majeurs de MS Teams.  

Yammer logo

YAMMER

Depuis son arrivée dans l’univers Microsoft il y a plusieurs années, Yammer est devenu l’un des réseaux sociax d’entreprise (RSE) les plus utilisés. Bien que sa croissance a considérablement ralenti, l’outil est toujours considéré comme l’alié avec lequel tant d’entreprises aiment travailler – en particulier pour les communications internes et pour d’autres usages sociaux.

Cet RSE est au cœur de la culture d’une entreprise, car il aide à renforcer l’engagement des employés envers l’enseigne et permet une communication facile et rapide entre collègues. Nombreuses personnes qui interagissent dans Yammer peuvent se trouver dans différents départements, ou même dans différents lieux géographiques, peu importe ! Yammer aide à éliminer les cloisonnements dans n’importe quelle entreprise.

L’un des cas d’usage les plus courants dans Yammer concerne les responsables de la communication interne. Ils ont tendance à faire des annonces pour toute l’entreprise, car leur objectif est de toucher le plus grand nombre de personnes au sein d’une organisation. Ces annonces sont ensuite « likés » et commentées par les employés, ce qui encourage les interactions entre les personnes qui ne se rencontreraient pas en dehors de ce type d’environnement.

LE VERDICT

Yammer ainsi que Microsoft Teams sont tous deux des outils indispensables pour le travail et qui trouvent définitivement leur place dans la modern workplace de toute organisation. Alors, quand utiliser chacun d’entre eux ?

Si l’objectif est d’envoyer des messages à toute l’entreprise et d’encourager la communication entre les différentes unités opérationnelles qui se trouvent dans différents endroits: Yammer est le bon choix ! Envoyez des annonces, créez des sondages, communiqués à travers des différents groupes – toute l’entreprise pourra y participer.

Si vous souhaitez que les membres de votre équipe communiquent sur leurs projets en cours tout en collaborant en temps réel sur des différents dossiers, Microsoft Teams sera votre meilleur allié. Les utilisateurs peuvent rejoindre différentes équipes et peuvent disposer des canaux spécifiques pour chacun de leurs projets tout en travaillant simultanément dans l’application de sorte que toutes les informations soient disponibles à tout moment. 

modern workplace

yammer

teams

Autres actualités

Découvrez toutes nos actualités